Doors to Dreams

Doors to Dreams (2000/2004)
15 minutes.
First performance: Reykjavik 2002, Iceland Symphony Orchestra, Bernhard Wilkinson .
Instrumentation: 3(III also picc).3.3.3(III also c.bsn)-

The five-movement Doors to Dreams alternates rhythmic, percussive movements with calm, nearly static ones. It is inspired by a poem by Óskar Árni Óskarsson, which, in Tómasson´s words, “pairs incompatible things and actions.” Tómasson´s music explores sharp contrasts, between playful and sombre, extreme dynamics, registers, and timbres. The movements are titled: Echoes, Voices, Wings, Illumination, and Doors to Dreams.

“Tómasson´s composition is a work of genius… a marvellously lively and entertaining score with mysterious interludes…” DV (Iceland), February 2002.

For further information please contact the Iceland Music Information at or the composer at

First pages of the score: Doors to Dreams (beginning)

Listen to the third movement; Wings: